Bruno Mars is amazing, just the way he is

I was driving along earlier today, listening to the radio when once again Bruno Mars started in on “Just the Way You Are.” This song, incredibly popular–not the least bit crippled by the frequency of airtime it gets–still has not gotten old for me. True, I hear it about every hour or so, and the verses are beginning to nauseate me. But, right about the time the girl asks Bruno how she looks and he hits that high note to signal the end of verse 1, the tempo changes and I smile. Some songs delight me when they begin, some when they end, but “Just the Way You Are” delights me about halfway through, every time. That small change in the beat refreshes my listening palate, and catches me off guard. Even still. Not only that, but the incoming pulse contrasts the sensual dream of Mars’ voice, which can send anyone into a sugar-coma if they’re not careful. The juxtaposition is not too much–offset again by another verse before returning–but it’s enough to break the monotony of what has currently become pop radio. This my friends, is why we listen to music.

About katepadilla

I write for the Spencer Daily Reporter in Spencer, Iowa. I keep blogs lifebythebooks, Save Me, San Francisco, and Beauty and Beast Buy a House. I'm also hard at work writing a short story collection inspired by the music of Train.

What did you think?

