Moving to Moses Mayfield

I love Pandora radio. Without it, I would not have found Moses Mayfield, and I would have never been back to the days of sitting in the Dordt Music Workstudy room, listening to Gavin Rossdale and marking little “v”s and pi-symbols all over Tchaikovsky. Rossdale and Mayfield share the same smoky undertones in their voice, and they both allow that musical escapism everyone talks about when you just close your eyes and forget that reality exists. The minute the chorus rushed in, I googled Mayfield, hoping that I found the next up-and-coming (because, you know, I’m the go-to spot for the up-and-coming … ) only to find that his latest album dropped in 2007. But who am I kidding? I found Moses Mayfield on a Sunday afternoon in Austin, Texas, and something cool happened between the first note and the last. Besides, now that I know a) who he is, and b) how much I like him, I’ll know who to look for when word of a new album gets out …

 

(For your listening pleasure … )

 

(To compare. Remember the preview’s for Nights in Rodanthe?)

About katepadilla

I write for the Spencer Daily Reporter in Spencer, Iowa. I keep blogs lifebythebooks, Save Me, San Francisco, and Beauty and Beast Buy a House. I'm also hard at work writing a short story collection inspired by the music of Train.

What did you think?

