Their MMMBack!

The only “band shirt” I owned was Hanson. I was probably eight, and I loved that thing as if little Zac himself had popped right out of the fabric just to be my boyfriend.

But of course, I grew too big for both the shirt and the band, it seemed, and while I kept up with them from time to time–the lead singer of a new pop hit would sound familiar–they seamlessly found their place between Jonathan Taylor Thomas and Sabrina, the Teenage Witch and I moved on to the likes of Josh Groban and Bon Jovi.

About four years ago I came across the release of The Walk, and I was more than a little surprised that the brothers had grown up as well. The long hair was gone, the voices had dropped a register or two, and–crazy enough–these boys had grown up and become actual musical artists. While they had left the MTV scene years ago, they never really dropped out of the picture. In fact, their fifth studio album, Shout it Out, dropped last year and in the mornings on VH1’s Jump Start, you may even come across the music video to their single, Give a Little. They’ve found their place, it seems, and it’s quirky and wonderful. While they probably will never quit hearing requests for MMMBop, I see a comeback in their future.

 

Seriously. Doesn’t it just make you want to smile all day?

About katepadilla

I write for the Spencer Daily Reporter in Spencer, Iowa. I keep blogs lifebythebooks, Save Me, San Francisco, and Beauty and Beast Buy a House. I'm also hard at work writing a short story collection inspired by the music of Train.

What did you think?

