You Better Believe It

Heaven is for Real, by Todd Burpo. Thomas Nelson Publishers. 163 pp

As a rule, I don’t generally go for books with a distinctively “religious” theme. I like reading books that push the story, not the moral. But I couldn’t help but be intrigued by this one. It’s short and I thought, What the heck, why not?

Best. Decision. Ever.

I’m not the type of person to actively respond while I’m reading. Very few books have brought me outright laughing (one of the reasons I will read anything Jen Lancaster puts out. Anything.). And yet here I was, sitting in the Hy-Vee cafe, alternating between laughing and “Oh my gosh”-ing over my potato bacon soup and side salad.

You know those moments that are so truly amaze-ing that they send shivers down your back? Sit back, friends, you’re about to get 163 pages of spine-tingling goodness. Every moment from the time Colton tells his dad, “Jesus told me …” is beyond crazy. He knows what Jesus looks like. He should, after all, he sat in his lap. And if you look at him like he’s crazy for thinking that, he’ll look back at you like you’re crazy for doubting. Of course that’s what happened. Duh.

I spent the past year and a half with a child relatively Colton’s age. And I know the distinct sarcasm that comes out of the mouth of a four-year-old. I expected his father to think he was just playing around. I totally would have. But when Colton relayed exactly what both his father and mother were doing while he was in surgery, that’s when it’s time to snap to attention.

I would like to meet Colton someday. And you will too, once you read this book. And you’ll see why this book has spent so much time topping the NY Times bestseller lists. And, if you’re lucky enough, you may understand the point Colton wanted to make most when his parents wrote the book, ” … heaven is for real.”

About katepadilla

I write for the Spencer Daily Reporter in Spencer, Iowa. I keep blogs lifebythebooks, Save Me, San Francisco, and Beauty and Beast Buy a House. I'm also hard at work writing a short story collection inspired by the music of Train.

One response to “You Better Believe It”

  1. Mary Lynne says :

    Kate, found your blog via your column in today’s Dear Reader book club and am glad to find it. I’m also a writer (former journalist, biz writer and working on my first novel) and something of a nerd when it comes to literary criticism. Can’t do it but love to read others doing it. I never would have picked up this book, but I’m intrigued now. I’ve put my name on the waiting list (!!) for it at my library. Keep writing, I’ll be reading.

What did you think?

