Here’s to You, Mr. Hughes

Let me tell you how much I love this book.

So much.

You have no idea.

I love Jen Lancaster as it is (if you haven’t already gathered this from post on My Fair Lazy).

This one’s unique, because it’s the first work of fiction that she’s put out. It’s got the same witty humor that makes every other book of hers instant New York Times bestsellers, but the main character’s name is Mia and not Jen.

If you’ve read anything  by Ms. Lancaster before, you know she has an almost-obsessive love of anything ’80s. In If You Were Here, Mia and husband Mac buy a house that was used in Sixteen Candles. The only problem: the house is a strong wind away from kindling.

But they’re (she’s) determined to live in this house, and so they set out to renovate it.

Many of you probably don’t know my current housing situation, and in the grand scheme it really isn’t a big deal. But I do think of this book more these days, especially during the times I’m carrying coils of plumbing tube up the original 112-year-old basement stairs to the section of second floor where the master bathroom of the house will one day go.

Anyone who’s ever renovated before knows the inevitable mishaps that come with taking a full-house makeover. And if you haven’t renovated, just wait and read.

For other Jen Lancaster goodness, visit her blog at www.jennsylvania.com. Also, keep an eye out for her new memoir, Jeneration X: One Reluctant Adult’s Attempt to Unarrest her Arrested Development; Or, Why It’s Never Too Late For Her Dumbass to Learn by Froot Loops are Not for Dinner.

About katepadilla

I write for the Spencer Daily Reporter in Spencer, Iowa. I keep blogs lifebythebooks, Save Me, San Francisco, and Beauty and Beast Buy a House. I'm also hard at work writing a short story collection inspired by the music of Train.

2 responses to “Here’s to You, Mr. Hughes”

  1. Mario says :

    I’m making my way through a collection of poetry by Charles Bukowski and was trying to decide what I would check out next – – anything Raymond Carver is usually on my list of things I love but I thought something new would be nice – – and thanks to you, my decision has been made!

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Here I Go Again | life by the books - March 8, 2013

What did you think?

