The book roulette

I’m such a nerd.

I created a spreadsheet of all of the books that I own, along with what year I’ve read them. For a while now, I’ve been wanting to read at least the books I have. For those who have seen my bookshelf, this is no small feat. According to the spreadsheet, I have 552 books through July, and I know I’m missing a few.

The thing is, with the nature of my job, I get new books in every month. I’m not complaining, far from it, but it does make things difficult to keep on top a goal like this. So I’ve got two pages on my spreadsheet (nerd alert). One is for all of the books I have up until August, and one is for all of the books I receive after August 1. That page currently has 8 books on it already.

Of course I’ll read books from the second page. I’ll have to, especially for work. But on my own, in my “free” time, I’ll be reading books from the first list. Here’s where the roulette comes in.

I downloaded a random number generator on my phone. The problem I’d been having in the past with challenges like this is figuring out what to read. I’m hoping this generator gets rid of that problem. I click “generate” and the little device, with the help of the spreadsheet, simply tells me what I’ll be reading next.

I’m currently working through Orson Scott Card’s Ender’s Game, which I wanted to read especially with the movie coming out this fall. After that, however, I’ll be playing the roulette.

Of course there is the problem that I can’t stand the book I’m assigned. Example: The Long Earth by Terry Pratchett and Stephen Baxter. Ironically, this is the very first book the generator picked for me. I guess I’ll give it another shot. I only got 100 pages in last time; here’s hoping it gets better.

About katepadilla

I write for the Spencer Daily Reporter in Spencer, Iowa. I keep blogs lifebythebooks, Save Me, San Francisco, and Beauty and Beast Buy a House. I'm also hard at work writing a short story collection inspired by the music of Train.

2 responses to “The book roulette”

  1. Dennis A. Matejka says :

    Hey Kate — I enjoyed your book roulette story. Your two sheets reminds me of my situation. Friends get confused when I tell them that I have 213 books on my to-read list, but that I have 14 books to read before I even get to the list! I finally found someone to appreciate and understand! Keep up the good work!

  2. The Obsessed Reader says :

    I definitely understand how you felt. I am considering following in your footsteps! I don’t know what I’ll be reading after I’m finished with the series I’m reading now. 🙂

What did you think?

