Sneak Peak: The Longest Ride, by Nicholas Sparks

So I’m a little late with my “Sneak Peak” this week, but better late than never, right?

I’m really excited to tell you about this book. Like Fangirl, I waited patiently to read this book and then devoured it in a day. And, it just so happens, things lined up well enough that not only is this my featured “Sneak Peak,” but it’s also the Book of the Week this week!

If I could learn Nicholas Spark’s secret, I would save the world, I swear. Bash him if you want, but admit it, you’re jealous. In a way, he’s kind of the Thomas Kinkade of books–he’s managed to produce something people want to buy, and he’s managed to do very well at his work while he’s still alive. Most people this famous are dead.

So, without further ado, I bring to you a small snippet from Sparks’ latest, The Longest Ride, which is out in hardcover today:

Early February 2011–Ira: I sometimes think to myself that I’m the last of my kind. My name is Ira Levinson. I’m a southerner and a Jew, and equally proud to have been called both at one time or another. I’m also an old man. I was born in 1920, the year that alcohol was outlawed and women were given the right to vote, and i often wondered if that was the reason my life turned out the way it did. I’ve never been a drinker, after all, and the woman I married stood in line to cast a ballot for Roosevelt as soon as she reached the appropriate age, so it would be easy to imagine that the year of my birth somehow ordained it all.

Confused yet? Good, you’re intrigued, now go buy the book, and check back Friday for my thoughts in the Book of the Week post.

About katepadilla

I write for the Spencer Daily Reporter in Spencer, Iowa. I keep blogs lifebythebooks, Save Me, San Francisco, and Beauty and Beast Buy a House. I'm also hard at work writing a short story collection inspired by the music of Train.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Book of the Week: The Longest Ride | LIFEBYTHEBOOKS - September 20, 2013

What did you think?

