SDR Book of the Week: Organize & Create Discipline, by Justin Klosky

Organize & Create Discipline: An A-to-Z Guide to an Organized Existence, by Justin Klosky. Avery, 320 pp. $26

In this coming new year, I only made one resolution: get organized. Sure, there are other things I’d like to do. I’d like to focus more on growing lifebythebooks and posting new content every day. I’d like to run at least three times a week. I’d like to publish some of my fiction. But, when I think about what will best help me in the future, my number one dream is to be organized.

Really, that’s why I wanted this book. And believe me, it doesn’t disappoint. Justin Klosky is a professional organizer who has helped countless people find peace in their lives through organization. And now he’s taken all of his wisdom and knowledge and produced Organize & Create Discipline, an anthology of tools to organize over 300 different elements of our lives.

Klosky was diagnosed at an early age with OCD, and he’s taken this often debilitating condition and created an empire from it, which he calls the OCD Experience. To be honest, even the formatting of this book is organized.

2014 01 03 Organize + Create Discipline 02

If you notice, under “Junk Drawers”, the words “Office,” “Drawers,” “Receipts,” “Keys,” “Batteries,” and “Tools” are bolded and in all-caps. This means that each of these words listed under “Junk Drawers” also have their own categories within the book. I don’t necessarily need to remember that there is a section dedicated to office organization, because anywhere the mentions offices in this book will tell me. All I need to do is flip to “O,” which is easily found in the outside margin above the page number, and look for “Office,” because all of the categories are listed alphabetically. I promise, it’s a magical experience.

I would like to think that I could be the type of person that is organized. I know that even in the few weeks I’ve had this book (It was released Dec. 26) I’ve already managed to knock out a few high-traffic areas of my life. It’s freeing to know that, even in a small way, I can utilize my time and energy more peacefully and efficiently. With the help of Organize & Create Discipline, I look forward to extending this feeling of freedom through the rest of the year.

About katepadilla

I write for the Spencer Daily Reporter in Spencer, Iowa. I keep blogs lifebythebooks, Save Me, San Francisco, and Beauty and Beast Buy a House. I'm also hard at work writing a short story collection inspired by the music of Train.

What did you think?

