Sneak Peek: The Secret Life of Walter Mitty

I didn’t know what else to call this segment, but it’s my goal to include a small excerpt from a book each Monday, a quote I found powerful or inspirational in my reading.

Leave it to me to break my own rules one week in, but I really wanted to share this bit from a movie I saw last weekend: The Secret Life of Walter Mitty. The movie is based on a short story by James Thurber, and I promise you it’s one of the best movies I think I’ve ever seen.

Walter Mitty, the main character played by Ben Stiller, works at Life Magazine at a time when Life is transitioning from print to online. He analyses the negatives of the photos that are eventually published in the magazine, a job he’s been doing for the past 16 years.

This little portion is the motto of Life, and a quote Walter holds dear to him. I won’t go into much more detail than that:

To see things thousands of miles away, things hidden behind walls and within rooms, things dangerous to come to, to draw closer, to see and be amazed.

I wrote this quote down because I want to remember it, because I was inspired by it and by the movie it was a part of. I included it as today’s “Sneak Peak”, even though it’s not really a secret and even through it’s not from a book, because I think it’s too important not to share.

About katepadilla

I write for the Spencer Daily Reporter in Spencer, Iowa. I keep blogs lifebythebooks, Save Me, San Francisco, and Beauty and Beast Buy a House. I'm also hard at work writing a short story collection inspired by the music of Train.

What did you think?

