Book Roulette: Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, by JK Rowling

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, by JK Rowling. Scholastic: 2002. 734 pp.

Is it wrong to say I liked the movie better? At least with this one. I totally thought this was my favorite book going in–it used to be my favorite book. I was so excited to get to this one, and the more I read into it the more I realized I liked the movie better.

It just went a lot slower than I imagined. I really like the structure of this story–probably why it was my favorite earlier–because things that are structured tend to relieve my stress. I’m learning this about myself.

I liked how Rowling took a step back from the typical “Harry’s at Hogwarts + Voldemort shows up in some form and threatens the wizarding world = Harry learns more about himself and his parents” formula. This offered a new perspective into the entire wizard movies, especially with the inclusion of Beauxbatons and Durmstrang. I want to know more about these schools, though. I think it would be cool to have books written about them (or maybe I just need to find some decent fanfiction about it).

Here’s the thing I don’t get, though. How was no one suspicious of Barty Jr.’s plan? In order to remain disguised as Mad-Eye Moody, he would have to take the Polyjuice Potion every hour, on the hour. On the final night of the Tri-wizard Tournament, Dumbledore noted the excitement of the event may have distracted him from taking the potion on time. So, for the entire school year, up until that moment at the end, he didn’t miss once? Not only that, but Dumbledore didn’t suspect anything until “Moody” took Harry up to his office after Harry reappeared with Cedric’s body. Only then, apparently, did “Moody” act out of character.

I’m getting a little intense here.

Despite the size of the doorstops that await me in this series, I’m looking forward to reading (or re-reading) further. I prefer Harry, Ron and Hermione when they’re all grown up.

About katepadilla

I write for the Spencer Daily Reporter in Spencer, Iowa. I keep blogs lifebythebooks, Save Me, San Francisco, and Beauty and Beast Buy a House. I'm also hard at work writing a short story collection inspired by the music of Train.

What did you think?

